welding different framehead

Buggy Buddies to the Rescue! Breakdowns, repairs, construction, all things technical.
90volts

welding different framehead

Post by 90volts »

can anyone tell me how involved changing out a framehead is? i see theres a superbeetle pan in the classefieds nearby for not much. everything looks good except for the front end. is there a big deal or is it better just to wait it out- cause i am not in a hurry.i presently don't weld but am looking around to learn and start a build from the ground up over a long term to learn everything myself (as opposed to my present buggy). thanks all.
CairoManx

Post by CairoManx »

I'm by no means a proficient welder, but I've shortened pans, cut down seat mounts and even rebuilt motorcycle and dune buggy tube frames. I've just got a cheap wire feed welder. I do all the cutting, bending, trimming, grinding and fishmouthing and when its dead straight I securely tack weld it all together and check it again. Then I take it to a certified welder(who teaches at the local community college) and he runs the bead with the perfect penetration and minimal distortion. He's usually done in 15 or 30 minutes because I've done all the tough, time consuming (expensive) work. In the mean time I've gotten better and better with the wire feed. With the time and care you can put into it, you'll probably do a better job than if you had it done by a body shop. You'll definitely have gained some new skills. If you do decide to do it, make sure you locate the seam at a point where you can weld a doubler strip over the top of it, not right up against the front bulkhead.
Gene-C

Post by Gene-C »

I bought a Lincoln mig welder. I watched the video that came with it and read a book. I practiced (briefly) on scrap and then went to town. I welded my pan, Built a trailer and repaired numerous things. I found welding to be a piece of cake. As for the torch set I bought, well thats a different story.
90volts

Post by 90volts »